2024-2025 Season Memberships Available Now!

Scores / Schedule
Team NewsUncategorized

Lyle Thompson wins 2017-18 NLL Sportsmanship Award

Thompson led team in points, goals, loose balls, and caused turnovers

The National Lacrosse League recognized Georgia Swarm forward Lyle Thompson with the 2017-18 Sportsmanship Award on Monday, Aug. 6. Thompson becomes the second Swarm player to have won this award within the past two years, following Jordan Hall’s win in 2017.

“It’s an honor to receive the NLL Sportsmanship Award,” Lyle said. “I’d just like to thank my parents, who raised me and taught me how to play the game of lacrosse and ingrained that aspect of being a sportsman. Also, all of my coaches with the Swarm. Head coach Ed Comeau, it’s something he preaches before every game, what the game’s about. I think I’ve got a lot of people that have helped me become the player I am today, and I’m just thankful for that.”

For the second season in a row, Thompson led the Swarm in points and goals. He finished the 2017-18 season with 86 points (46G, 40A), 123 loose balls, 21 caused turnovers, and a .186 SPCT. His 46 goals and 21 caused turnovers are new personal bests.

In one postseason game, Lyle recorded three points (1G, 2A) and snagged 10 loose balls.

Over the final six games of the regular season, Thompson led the charge offensively in the Swarm’s efforts to climb out of last place in the East Division and into first place with six-straight wins. Thompson netted 24 goals over that six-game span, an average of four goals per game and more than what he scored in the first 12 games of the season.

“Lyle plays the game at a very high level, but does so in a manner of respect for all those involved,” Comeau said. “He is a great ambassador and role model for his community, his nation, lacrosse, and the Swarm.”

In three seasons in the NLL and with the Georgia Swarm, Thompson led the Swarm to win its first-ever World Championship in 2017, was named the 2017 NLL MVP and 2017 Champion’s Cup MVP, made the 2017 All-Pro First Team, and was named to the 2016 All-Rookie Team.

The No. 1 overall pick in the 2015 NLL draft has logged 262 career points (118G, 144A), collected 330 loose balls, caused 48 turnovers, and has a career .188 SPCT over 54 regular season games. In six postseason contests, Thompson has 30 points (11G, 19A), 38 loose balls, and six caused turnovers.

John LaFontaine (New England) and Jordan Gilles (Colorado) were also up for the Sportsmanship Award.

Season Tickets for the Swarm’s 2018-19 season are On Sale Now! Join The Hive by reserving your membership today by calling 844-4-GASWARM.

Georgia Swarm Pro Lacrosse Team