Swarm Host Rival Philadelphia Sat Dec 17 - Tickets Start at Just $12! CHOOSE YOUR SEATS

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
Rochester
16
Georgia
11
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Georgia
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
19:00:00
Buffalo
Georgia
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
19:30:00
Georgia
Buffalo
WK
10
Fri, Feb 3
21:00:00
Georgia
Colorado
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
19:30:00
Toronto
Georgia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:00:00
Georgia
Toronto
WK
13
Sat, Feb 25
19:00:00
Albany
Georgia
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
19:00:00
Georgia
Albany
WK
15
Sun, Mar 12
16:00:00
Rochester
Georgia
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00:00
Georgia
Philadelphia
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:30:00
Georgia
New York
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
20:00:00
New York
Georgia
Sun, Apr 2
13:00:00
Georgia
Halifax
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
19:00:00
Saskatchewan
Georgia
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Georgia
Albany
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
19:00:00
Georgia
Rochester
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Halifax
Georgia
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Team News

John Ranagan named 2019 NLL Teammate of the Year

Ranagan is the second Swarm player to have won the award in the last three seasons

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) awarded former Swarm defenseman John Ranagan as the 2019 Teammate of the Year. Ranagan becomes the first Swarm player to win the award since Swarm goaltender Mike Poulin earned it in 2017, which was his second consecutive season winning the honor.

“It’s probably one of the coolest awards I’ve won,” Ranagan said. “A lot of times when you win awards, it’s personal, and having something like this which is voted on by your teammates is pretty special. Obviously, I’ve got a lot of good experience when you have guys in the locker room who are past winners of the Teammate of the Year Award. I’m very humbled, and it’s easy to be a good teammate when you’re a part of a great organization.”

Ranagan wrapped up his fifth season in the NLL and third with the Swarm. In 13 games before an off-floor injury ended his season at the beginning of April, he posted five points (1G, 4A), 25 loose balls and 10 caused turnovers. He was selected in the second round (No. 4 overall) of the 2019 NLL Expansion Draft by the New York Riptide earlier this month.

Swarm Owner and General Manager John Arlotta signed Ranagan to the Swarm’s 2017 roster after he was cut from the New England Black Wolves following training camp. Added the day before the 2017 roster had to be finalized, Ranagan made an immediate impact and helped the Swarm earn their first-ever NLL World Championship in his first year with the squad.

Ranagan evolved into a strong veteran voice in the locker room. Despite being injured, he attended every remaining Swarm game at the end of the season, and his presence was noted by his teammates.

“John is the epitome of a ‘glue guy,’” Poulin said. “It’s no surprise the Swarm have been the closest group of players that I have been around since John showed up in 2017. This award is well deserved!”

Photo Credit: Kyle Hess

Through his three seasons with the Swarm, Ranagan played in 49 games, recorded 21 points (9G, 12A), collected 136 loose balls and caused 31 turnovers.

In 83 career regular season games, the Johns Hopkins University alum has 40 points (16G, 24A), 278 loose balls and 55 caused turnovers.

Also nominated for the 2019 Teammate of the Year were Kyle Buchanan of the San Diego Seals and Chad Cummings of the Calgary Roughnecks.


Sting City Memberships for the 2019-20 Swarm season are on sale now and are available by calling 844-4-GASWARM.

Georgia Swarm Pro Lacrosse Team