2024-2025 Season Memberships Available Now!

Scores / Schedule
NLL Awards & Hall of FamePress Releases

Lyle Thompson Named a Finalist for NLL Sportsmanship Award

DULUTH, Ga. (June 22, 2022) – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) announced the three finalists for each end of the season awards for the 2021-22 regular season. For the fourth straight year Georgia Swarm forward Lyle Thompson was named a finalist for the NLL Sportsmanship Award.

Thompson, a lacrosse legend and foremost ambassador for the sport, has brought home the league’s Sportsmanship Award each year since the 2018 season. Thompson can become a four-time Sportsmanship Award recipient, the first to ever do so. Should Thompson earn the accolade again this season, it would mark the fifth consecutive year Georgia has claimed the title. Teammate Jordan Hall earned the Sportsmanship Award honor in 2017 while Thompson claimed the Most Valuable Player title during the Swarm’s NLL Championship season. The Georgia Swarm also saw former forward Kiel Matisz selected as a Sportsmanship Award finalist during the 2016 season.

The prevalence of Georgia players attached to this honor is testament to the emphasis Swarm Owner and GM John Arlotta places on drafting and recruiting high-character individuals and creating an extremely tight-knit and positive locker room culture.

This past season, Thompson was dominant around the crease, totaling 47 goals and 55 assists for 102 points. Among the NLL, the University at Albany product finished the season ranked fifth in points, tied for first in goals and first in shots (198). Since February 24, Thompson led the league in goals seven different times, ending the regular season tied for first with Joe Resetarits (Albany FireWolves) and Tom Shreiber (Toronto Rock).

Toronto Rock’s Dan Dawson and Vancouver Warriors’ Keegan Bal are also named finalists for this year’s Sportsmanship Award. Dawson was crowned with the honor in 2009 when he suited up with the Boston Blazers. If Bal were to win this season, it would mark the first time in Warriors history a player achieved this honor.

The 2021-22 award winners will be announced during the week of June 27. You can read more about the NLL 2021-22 award finalists here.

Georgia Swarm Pro Lacrosse Team