2024-2025 Season Memberships Available Now!

Scores / Schedule
Team News

2016 NLL Draft Order

The National Lacrosse League has announced the official order of selection for the 2016 NLL Draft along with compensatory draft picks awarded to teams ahead of the 2017 season.


The Georgia Swarm owns three picks in the first round with Nos. 4, 8 and 10.


The Swarm, Roughnecks and Buffalo Bandits were awarded compensatory draft selections as a result of losing players to unrestricted free agency prior to the 2016 NLL season.


The Swarm will receive a first-round selection (10th overall) in the 2016 NLL Draft and one selection at the conclusion of the first round of the 2017 NLL Draft for losing forward Callum Crawford, who signed with the Colorado Mammoth. Georgia was also awarded a second-round selection (20th overall) in 2016 after defenseman Greg Downing signed with the Mammoth.


In 2015, the Swarm selected a league-high four first-round picks and put together one of the most talented rookie classes in recent memory with Lyle Thompson (No. 1 overall), Jesse King (No. 3), Chad Tutton (No. 5) and Randy Staats (No. 6). Both King and Staats are finalists for the league’s Rookie of the Year Award, which will be announced at the NLL Season Awards in late September.

Information regarding the 2016 NLL Draft and Combine (including eligibility and registration information) will be announced in the coming weeks with more details forthcoming.


2016 NLL Draft Order as of July 22 (subject to change pending trades):


1. Saskatchewan (from Vancouver)
2. Toronto
3. Saskatchewan (from Rochester)
4. Georgia 
5. Calgary
6. Rochester (from New England)
7. Rochester (from Colorado)
8. Georgia (from Buffalo)
9. Saskatchewan
10. Georgia (compensatory selection)


11. Vancouver
12. Toronto (from Toronto via New England)
13. Buffalo (from Rochester)
14. Georgia
15. Calgary
16. Buffalo (from New England)
17. Georgia (from Colorado)
18. Buffalo
19. Saskatchewan
20. Georgia (compensatory selection)
21. Calgary (compensatory selection)


22. Georgia (from Vancouver)
23. Toronto
24. Georgia (from Rochester)
25. Georgia 
26. Calgary
27. Calgary (from New England)
28. Georgia (from Colorado)
29. Rochester (from Buffalo)
30. Saskatchewan
31. Buffalo (compensatory selection)


32. Vancouver
33. New England (from Toronto)
34. Rochester 
35. Georgia
36. Calgary
37. New England
38. Colorado
39. Buffalo
40. Saskatchewan


41. Vancouver
42. Toronto
43. Rochester 
44. Georgia
45. Calgary
46. Colorado
47. Buffalo
48. Saskatchewan


49. Vancouver
50. Toronto
51. Rochester
52. Buffalo (from Georgia)
53. Calgary
54. New England
55. Colorado
56. New England (from Buffalo)
57. Saskatchewan


The Roughnecks have been awarded a second-round selection (21st overall) in the 2016 NLL Draft for losing defenseman Jeff Moleski, who signed with the Vancouver Stealth.


The Bandits will receive a third-round selection (31st overall) in the 2016 NLL Draft after losing defenseman Derek Suddons to the New England Black Wolves.


The awarding of compensatory draft selections is outlined in the league's Collective Bargaining Agreement under Article 7 (Free Agency) in Section 7.2 (Unrestricted Free Agency):


F. Compensatory Draft Selections. Any club that loses an Unrestricted Free Agent shall be eligible to receive a compensatory draft selection(s) that will be issued by the League in a formula to be determined solely by the League.


Season Tickets and Group Experiences for the 2017 Swarm Season at Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Field at Infinite Energy Arena are NOW ON SALE! Call 844-4-GASWARM or visit georgiaswarm.com/tickets for purchasing information.

Georgia Swarm Pro Lacrosse Team