WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
8:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Swarm
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Swarm
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:30 pm ET
Swarm
Bandits
WK
10
Fri, Feb 3
9:00 pm ET
Swarm
Mammoth
WK
11
Fri, Feb 10
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Swarm
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
Rock
WK
13
Sat, Feb 25
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Swarm
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
FireWolves
WK
15
Sun, Mar 12
4:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Swarm
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:30 pm ET
Swarm
Riptide
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
7:30 pm ET
Riptide
Swarm
Sun, Apr 2
1:00 pm ET
Swarm
Thunderbirds
WK
19
Sat, Apr 8
7:00 pm ET
Rush
Swarm
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
FireWolves
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
7:00 pm ET
Swarm
Knighthawks
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Swarm
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule

The History

The roots of the great game of lacrosse

Lacrosse is the oldest sport from North America and is the cultural sport for Native American communities across the continent. Dating as far back as 1100 AD, the game was eventually adopted in Canada in the early 19th century.

The Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) believe lacrosse (Dechongiwiis) was bestowed upon them by The Creator for humans to enjoy. Dechongiwiis is meant to give thanks and praises to the gods, serve as a medicine game for tribes, and help settle tribal disputes.

Dechongiwiis events could last for days with up to 1,000 participants, and the area of play could range from a few hundred yards to miles apart. The games were physical affairs with rules of the contest decided upon the day before a game.

The name “lacrosse” comes from French Jesuit missionary Jean de Brébeuf during the early 17th century, and he called it la crosse, French for “the stick.” Williams George Beers, a Canadian dentist in the mid-19th century, modernized the sport and wrote down rules for lacrosse, and as such is credited as the “Father of Modern Lacrosse.”

The Swarm host Native Heritage Night every season, celebrating the roots of the great sport and educating fans all night long about its history. Members of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians travel down each season to demonstrate their crafts and educate the Swarm fanbase about their cultural sport.

Native Dancers
Georgia Swarm Pro Lacrosse Team